Experts: Regionalize NJ Schools to Fight Rising Property Taxes

Photo: Sarah Smith

On Thursday lawmakers proposed regionalizing all of New Jersey's elementary and middle school districts into bigger K-12 districts in an effort to fight increasing property taxes. The plan would eliminate almost half of the state's school districts and the majority of Sussex County's school districts.

The list of 278 school districts that could be regionalized includes Andover, Bryam, Frankford, Franklin, Fredon, Green, Hamburg, Hampton, Hardyston, Lafayette, Montague, Ogdensburg, Sandyston-Walpack, Stanhope, Stillwater and Sussex-Wantage.

Only four Sussex County school districts, Hopatcong, Newton, Sparta and Vernon, are K-12 so they were not included on the list.

The proposal is part of a study by experts on how to improve New Jersey's finances. 

Read the story here.

Sarah the Web Girl


Content Goes Here